Aspect of the Fox

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about this new spell that hunter’s are getting in Cataclysm. It’s a new Aspect, to be exact.

Hunter’s will be able to train Aspect of the Fox at level 83. When Aspect of the Fox is active it allows you to cast Steady Shot and Cobra Shot while moving. Also, it gives back 2 focus for every time we get hit by a melee attack.

The way Blizzard designed focus is interesting, yet simple to understand. Basically, it’s almost exactly like Energy except for two big aspects.

  1. Energy regenerates a lot faster than Focus does.
  2. We have an ability (In this Case Steady/Cobra Shot) that allows us to regenerate focus. Energy relies solely on talents and passive regeneration.

Unlike Energy, we can’t let our Focus pool to increase DPS because it doesn’t pool fast enough. Instead, we have to spam our focus regenerating shots to gain back what we need to use our DPS shots.

The one drawback to this system is the fact that our focus regenerating shots have a cast time. Not a long one, but it’s their. That mean’s we can’t cast them while moving thus cutting down our focus regeneration while moving by a very big amount. Aspect of the Fox opens a new door for us in the way we regenerate focus in both PvE and PvP.

Honestly, I’ve come to one conclusion about this spell. In my opinion, Aspect of the Fox is the hunter’s BEST utility spell (If not the best spell, period) that they will have at 85. Why do I think this you ask? Well, let me explain.

PvE

A lot of PvE fights now a days (And especially the one’s i’ve seen in Cataclysm) require a good amount of movement. In a general situation we would be severely focus starved if we had to move a good distance during a fight. Now we can just activate Aspect of the Fox and keep casting our Steady/Cobra Shots.

The best part about Aspect of the Fox from a PvE standpoint? It allows us to keep 100% DPS while moving. Of course, that assumes you know hot to Studder-Step (Yes, I’m going to write a post on how to do this at some point). Think about it, we are the ONLY class that can keep 100% DPS while moving. How awesome is that?

PvP

From a PvP aspect I plan to have Aspect of the Fox on 24/7. PvP is almost all moving. From my experience there are very little moments where you get to stop and actually cast. Now, you don’t actually have to stop moving at all except to fire auto shots! Also, the focus you get back from getting hit by melee attacks is pretty nifty too.

 

A friend of mine pointed out that I move and jump a lot in game. I watched myself today and I really do! Personally, I can’t wait for Aspect of the Fox because I want to be able to move and keep DPS. Not having it right now at 80 feels so cripple. If I have to move for more than two seconds I get focus starves and just basically have to stand there. I hate just standing and waiting when DPSing.

See why I love Aspect of the Fox so much? Sure, the lost of not using Aspect of the Hawk is there but you’ll be able to cast while moving… How awesome is that?!

Let me know what you think about Aspect of the Fox down below!

~ Bliky

  1. Have you tried Halion since the patch? This is obviously not a fight that hunters were meant to do without AotF :D

    I wouldn’t say we can keep 100% our dps while moving, only because Aspect of the Hawk will be off and that is currently set to give us 1620 AP. And I’m guessing they’ll adjust that number to make sure being in AotH is worthwhile doing in case 1620 AP proves to not be enough.

    Cheers,
    Gav

      • Bliky
      • October 31st, 2010

      Yes, I have done RS and AotF would make it AMAZING :D

      As far as 100%, I think I meant more a long the lines of 100% up time on DPS. IE: We never have to stop pressing buttons which is awesome!

      ~ Bliky

    • Thinmint
    • October 31st, 2010

    mmmm life tap. LEARN IT BITCH!!! yeah you lucky bastards, i have to stop and cast sb periodically, but moving while dpsing isn’t hard once you learn the stutter step move.

  2. Bliky :
    As far as 100%, I think I meant more a long the lines of 100% up time on DPS. IE: We never have to stop pressing buttons which is awesome!
    ~ Bliky

    Ah, now I see what you mean. :) and yeah, that is good stuff, it’s never fun to just wait around not doing your rotation… (sindragosa?…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

