Blizzcon 2010

As most of you know Blizzcon went on this past weekend. I didn’t get to physically attend this year but I was able to get the Direct TV live stream and watch it from the comfort of my own house. I was only going to watch the some of the panels as I usually aren’t interested in Cinematics or Art stuff but honestly, I’m glad I watched both of these panels. They were very interesting and gave me a cool look into new parts of the game I hadn’t seen before.

If course, I did watch the Class Q&A, General Q&A, and the Dungeons & Raids panel since those were what I really wanted to see. The only one that had any relevant hunter questions was the Class Q&A one and I wanted to talk about the two questions that were asked.

Q: Are Hunters ever going to get a fun “melee” enchant or are we going to be stuck with the same enchants?

A: For now you’re going to be stuck, but we’re going to be evaluating the scopes to make them more interesting. So if you get that cool proc enchant, it will come through that.

I thought this was an awesome question to ask when I heard it. It makes sense really. Melee get some cool proc based weapon enchants, why are we stuck with just static stats? Well the answer that (I believe it was GC who answered this, Him or Ion (Who rocked the Class Q&A up one end and down the other btw)) they gave was kind of a surprising one. Scopes, at least in my eyes, have always been boring. Just more static stats bla bla etc… Well, having a scope that act’s like the Mongoose enchant or the Berserking enchant that procs a certain stat for a duration would be really awesome! /approve

Q: Hunters are the only class in the game with a minimum range. This hurts us a lot in raids. They can stand directly in front of you, they can repeatedly stand in front of you and use a ranged attack, why can’t Hunters do the same thing and stack near the boss?

A: It’s a theme for the class. Larger hit boxes on bosses cause a problem, and that’s something we’d like to address.

Followup Question:

Q: Well is there something to be done to give us an advantage for that?

A: You can shoot while moving for one, mages can’t do that. Rogues can’t really do anything while running from spot a to spot b, but you can. Different classes, different situations.

Ahh, I knew someone would ask this. The old Minimum Range question. Now, personally, I don’t like the minimum range at times, but it’s not a HUGE deal to me. It was nice to see Blizzard wanting to address things like bosses having gigantic hit boxes which can give hunter’s a harder time with that specific fight (See Marrowgar). The answer to the second question was one that made me thing. If you think about it’s true. Casters like Warlocks or Mages really can only do one or two abilitys on the move. Melee can only do so much as well. Hunter’s on the other hand, can do everything. When we get access to Aspect of the Fox it will let us use our one casted ability while on the move. If you know how to Studder-Step properly to fire auto shots (Stopping for a split second every time you’re about to fire an auto shot while moving) you can continue to fire Auto Shots while on the move. Basically we can keep 100% DPS while on the move and I’m totally okay with that. Sure, it’s a trade off for having a minimum range but, in my opinion, its a great trade off!

Frostheim over at Warcraft Hunters Union attended Blizzcon this weekend. Lucky for him he ran into Ghostcrawler himself at the Hotel where he stayed. He got to have a (what looks to be) lengthy conversation about hunters and other things as well. I suggest you go for yourself and see exactly what Frostheim and Ghostcrawler had a conversation about in this article. (Yay for GC actually making an actual note in his Blackberry about the current situation of hunter pets not being crit-immune! There is hope!)

Want to discuss the questions asked in further detail or have something to add? Leave a comment below!

~ Bliky

  1. I agree with you on the minimum range issue. There’s just one problem with it in my opinion; the crazy randomly-sized hitboxes with no clue as to where they begin or end.
    It was good to hear that they are aware of the issue and want to sort it out somehow.

    If they just make the target-circle the actual hitbox, that’d be plenty in my eyes.

    Cheers,
    Gav

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

