Triumphs and Woes

So, after a little break from raiding this week (yeah, bad timing I know -.-) I was finally able to make my way back into ICC! Since the patch all I was able to see with the new changes in ICC was Marrowgar. I got to say, after a full nights raid (We went 10/12 HM ICC25 tonight) I have quite a few thoughts about focus, specs, and other stuff. Lets start, shall we?

(On another note, I got Heroic Deathbringer’s Will tonight :D)

The Triumphs

Well, while I was in my raid a good friend on twitter (Validra – You should check out his blog!) pointed me to this blue post that made me extremely happy. Here’s what it says:

We have pushed a hotfix to improve hunter damage.

Specifically, we increased the damage of the signature abilities (Chimera Shot, Black Arrow, Explosive Shot, and Kill Command) by 15-25%. This will both improve overall damage-dealing and make sure that these abilities are prioritized higher than other shots. We think this will bring hunters to a good enough state until they hit 85. Aspect of the Fox and Cobra Shot solve some specific issues at higher levels. Marksman hunters may still trump Survival and Beast Master hunters until they’re 85, since their rotations rely a little on Cobra Shot.

Now, I know things are scaled for 85 bla bla but honestly, from what I saw other hunters doing, its a little low right now. From my experience tonight I think my DPS is low… Well, I know it is. I’m not sure if the hotfix has actually been applied yet or if that won’t happen till next week. It’s nice to see Blizzard acknowledging that hunters are a little weak right now and they’re doing stuff to fix that!

The Woes

Of course, with every good comes some bad. If you were on twitter tonight while I was raiding (Yeah Validra and Rades, I’m looking at you guys!) I was talking about how I didn’t like focus that much. I’m kind of on edge about it, to be honest. Part of how I feel about focus I think Rades said best:

“Just hate the feel of using filler shots not to wait for CDs, but to be able to USE CD shots.”

I still don’t know about it… I just don’t. I feel crippled on movement fights (See Heroic Putricide) because I can’t Steady shot to regen focus when on the move so I have to rely on base focus regen (which isn’t a whole hell of a lot). Hopefully, the problems I have with movement should be fixed come 83 when I get Aspect of the Fox which lets you Steady/Cobra Shot on the move. The other issue (which isn’t so much an issue I am having but just a general one) is the lack of Cobra Shot. For Marks this isn’t a huge issue because it uses steady shot anyway, but for Survival and Beast Mastery they rely on Cobra Shot to keep serpent sting up. Without it, SS has to constantly be reapplied to the Boss. My hope is that I’ll get used to having focus, get better at managing it, and come 85 be okay with it. For now, it’s meh.

I messed around with my survival spec tonight for trash and a few other things. Notably I used it on Heroic Blood Queen. I didn’t get a bite but I did manage to do 14.5k DPS @ 3.3 million damage (I like the focus management and they rotation of the spec a lot more than I thought I would). I liked how much damage it did on trash as well. I plan on reforging all my gear back to mastery for survival and use it on thursday for Sindragosa and whatever else the raid decided to do. As well, I plan on writing a post for Survival, much like I did for Marks either tomorrow or Thursday so be on the look out for that!

~ Bliky

    • Darkbrew
    • October 20th, 2010

    The hotfix should’ve been applied during the day on (10/19) so you should’ve been raiding with those changes in place.

    I really thought that Cobra Shot should’ve been a level 80 ability since it’s a key part of the BM and SV rotations.

    And yes, I think Aspect of the Fox is a nice addition as it allows us to maintain our rotations on the move; albeit with reduced AP.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

